Tech

97 Posts

Reality check

Well been out on the bike granted very windy out there but didn't want to kill myself on the first outing did 4 miles with an average of 12.5 mph,I'm not as fit as thought I was

1. 8022 Posts

Don't panic, fit or not fit makes little difference on your 1st ride out. Cycling is very muscle specific and takes time!

2. 97 Posts

Well 18 months ago I was an active martial artist until I broke 3 ribs in a tournament which have took along time to heal hence the lack of training,time to get back active and get back in the saddle lol

3. 2304 Posts

Don't worry about the low average.Mine dropped to around 14mph on the Forme... back up to mid 17's once i got on the proper road bike (where i'm usually at this time of year)
    I just dropped my speed expectations on the Forme..it is afterall a heavy hybrid,and yours will probably weigh slightly more due to the front suspension. Once you get used to 12-14mph, you'll enjoy the ride... i did.

4. 97 Posts

Ill be honest TMC I was excepting better results I was getting the same times on my old carrera fury which now looking at it was lighter than my peak trail ,but had maxxis tyres,I thought with the kedra block 8 I would have less resistance,but overall might be my lack of fitness :(

5. 97 Posts

Just weighed the peak trail comes in at 15 kg with all the bits on it,mate of mines just purchased a cube pro cross hybrid 2013 cost double the price if my bike and he's weighs just under 13 kg do people actuall notice the 2 kg difference? And if they do ill just lose more weight lol

6. 97 Posts

Sorry guys the cube weighs 11.85 kg so it's a big difference

7. 8022 Posts